Random Character Generator Saga

nyakki

Long time no write.

Ready for a story that will thrill and delight. A story that will enhance your very being. A story like no other told before.

Then you've come to the wrong thread.

This is just an update on what is happening with The Random Character Generator (RCG).

For those who don't know (and for those who do but have forgotten) I made a Champions and Fantasy Hero RCG as well as a Character Combat Rating, Random Dice Generator and Name Generator.

All of those great programs can be found online at http://www.trimira.com/hero_stuff/hero_stuff.html

Now on with the story.

I've been working on the update for the RCG for a few months now (between family life, my job, and this, I've gotten 3 1/2 hours sleep... that's total for the few months)

While making the web version is all fine and good, I've been trying to think of ways to bring it to your computer so you don't need to access the internet everytime you want to generate a character.

I don't really know how to program for computers so I thought "Hey, I'll write it in Javascript and everyone can use their browsers" (direct quote -- did I tell you I only had 3 1/2 hours sleep?)

To make a long post a bit shorter, Javascript ain't easy. Sure, it can do some neat browser stuff, but for database/random/layout it wasn't cutting it. The commands I needed only worked with certain browsers and certain versions. Plus I didn't know Javascript language so I was teaching myself from tutorials from the web and there just wasn't anything on Random Character Generators (there were a lot of having annoying stuff follow your mouse, but I'll save that for another thread).

So, I thought, "Why don't I learn a programming language"

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA (my brain laughing - it has a strange sense of humor)

I opened a few books and had brain freeze.

I gave up on the idea of programming the RCG for use on the computer.

Could that be the end of the story?