Heavy Drinker

PerennialRook

My gnome, Ramne (shortened to Rom by my party because aparently the two sylables were to hard to remember), is a heavy drinker, though quite resistant to alcohol's effects. To simulate this (because I was not allowed to buy life support: immunity to alcohol) my dm said I could increasew my CON roll vs the effects of alcohol by +1 fro every three points I spend. I'm new to the game and all, but isn't this a little expensive?

-Preston

Hmm, it seems high, yes. Immunity to alcohol is 3 points, so it is logical that a simple resistance would be less. But I'll concede to the GM that Life Support is rather supernatural in power. I'm assuming he's applying some sort of limitation on Constitution. I'd say the limitation should be at least -1 1/2 (I'd give -2) for the Limited Power, and -1/2 for No Figured Characteristics. That would be at least one third cost, the problem is that you need five levels before you recieve a bonus on characteristic rolls. So that does come out to around 3 points a level.

Of course, that's pretty high. I'd say a far more equitable way would be to allow you to buy limited Power Defense vs. Imbibed Alcohol. Of course, he probably has the same concerns with this as he does with LS.

Edit: Ask if you could take penalty skill levels instead. That might be a way to simulate the effects. Similarly, point him to the Talents section. The sidebar for Environmental Movement gives another example of how to deal with this. Personally, I don't understand the GM's ruling, to be honest.

+1 for 3 pts is unfairly expensive when immunity is only 3 pts, but I think Kintara is right that this is the GM's reasoning: +1 CON roll takes +5 CON and costs 10 pts, so even with all the possible lims, you won't get +1 for less than 2 or 3 pts.