Question on AoE attacks

Glupii

I apologize ahead of time if this questions seems very simple. I am still relatively new to actually running the system (Our primary GM passed away at Christmas and I am trying to pick up for him) and still trying to grasp the nuances. We are using the 5er rules and my question is with Shotguns/AoE Attacks. Shotguns do AoE Hex or AoE Cone damage. Am I reading the rules correctly in that if a target in the AoE is not fully covered in armor, as in has even one body part unarmored, they suffer the full affects of the attack?

The area of effect is accurate. Basically it is not affecting a whole area, but instead treats the targets DCV as 3 no matter what it actually is.

PS: not a bad question and I hope you learn to live the system.

So if there is only one or two open areas (unarmored), do they take the damage modified by the location or is it straight full damage as if they were completely unarmored? It seems like that makes a weapon like a shot gun a little too powerful in a heroic game.

And thanks for the encouragement. When Tancred passed, he took 75% of our group's total combined knowledge of the system with him. We all played it and had fairly good player knowledge, and I even ran a short game a few years ago, but we were all very reliant on his presence and incredible knowledge of the system. So now I am a little behind on my understanding of some fairly basic things...as my question suggest, I am sure. :)

I think you are asking: "How does Area of Effect interact with Hit Locations and Sectional Armor?"

I lack the full resources for 5E (only character creation handbook), so I can only give the 6E answer and hope somebody else tells if that was changed: