New Blood...

ZenStorm

Hello, all.

I'm new to the HERO system. I've finally picked up the core book for 5th Ed. after hearing from various sources about how cool it was.

I've been into White Wolf games (mostly Mage and Exalted) for years. But, seeing that my (until recently) favorite supers game "Aberrant" was being revamped for the d20 v3.5 ultra-crapola rules. I thought I'd check out Champions.

I'm about to start my long trek through pages of the core book here in a moment and I'm very curious to hear the impressions of those who've been playing it for a long time.

What do you think? Any particularly glowing spots of goodness? Any beefs?

Welcome to the fold ZenStorm You made the right choice.

(You actually were forced to place Abbreant? You have my sympathy)

On a whole 5th Ed Hero is a very good game. The one and only bad spot in it (if you could call it that) is the fact that it is SO versatile and can be manipulated to great heights. As such, any GM has to pay very close attention to the power constructs of his players or Really Bad Things can happen. Other then that, you can do just about anything with the game system. And with the suplements and genre books that have come and are yet to come you are able to do so much more.

The Ultimate Vehicle, Until Superpowers Database and the Fantasy Hero Grimore are three books that come chock full of precreated vehicles, powers and spells that provide new players (and GMs) with ideas and insight into power creation as well as ready made items for use out of the box until they are comfortable with building (or modifying) their own.

All in all . . you chose a very good system with wide community, as well as product, support. If you have any questions, post them and within minutes (sometimes less) you'll have an answer (and most likely several).

Enjoy!

Glowing spots:

Flexibility. HERO can be used to simulate pretty much anyhting you can think of. Any character, any power, bar none.