Marvel's Ultimate Universe: Cyclops

Allandrel

Standard Opening: I’m preparing to run a game set in Marvel’s Ultimate Universe. I’ve been roleplaying for ten years, but I’m new to the Hero System. To help prepare for my game, and more importantly to help learn the ins and outs of the system, I’m statting up the entire Ultimate Universe. What I’m looking for here is feedback and suggestions on how to get the effects I want using the Hero system, rather than precisely replicating the abilities of the characters (though I’d like to do that, too).

(In addition, whenever I lack information about a character’s abilities, I’m going to fall back on the assumption that they’re pretty much the same as their Marvel Universe counterpart.)

I’ve already gone over Spider-Man, and was going to do the Green Goblin next. But he’s got some complicated Multiform stuff that I’d rather hold off on. Since the main thing I’m focusing on right now is Power Modifiers, I thought I’d look at a guy who is just loaded with them: the X-Men’s Cyclops.

Cyclop’s mundane abilities are very straightforward. Good (but not exceptional) characteristics, lots of skills. The main area of interest is his powers. Cyclops’ optic blasts present an interesting challenge. As a power, it’s easy enough to place. He does two things with the blast: hits things to damage them, and deflects incoming attacks. Thus we have the Energy Blast Power and the Missile Deflection power. Since they are both uses of the same power, and would be equally affected by Adjustment powers like Drain, we’re probably looking at a two-power Elemental Control.

So here’s the traits we’re looking to represent, starting with the easy ones: