Plate armor ineffective?!?

vivsavage

I am new to Fantasy Hero and have a couple of questions relating to armor:

1) What is the rationale behind making plate armor only half-effective against bashing attacks? I have read copious amounts of history on medieval armor, and have never read anything that would indicate that plate is less effective against bashing weapons (when compared to other types of armor). Is this just an attempt at game balance? It seems highly unrealistic to me.

2) Is chainmail assumed to have quilt padding underneath?

3) Is scale armor included in the penalties against piercing weapons?

Guest Keneton

I am not sure where you are getting this about plate armor. There are options on making plate less effective, but the default value of plate (8 DEF) works the same against all non AP or Penetrating attacks. I will be glad to assist if you would like and good luck with HERO. We are very friendly here an love to support new players.

:)

Originally posted by Keneton

I am not sure where you are getting this about plate armor. There are options on making plate less effective, but the default value of plate (8 DEF) works the same against all non AP or Penetrating attacks. I will be glad to assist if you would like and good luck with HERO. We are very friendly here an love to support new players.

Glad to hear that! The info regarding plate armor being less effective against bashing weapons is on page 178 of FH: "leather and plate armors only provide half DEF against Bashing weapons." While I agree that bashing weapons are more effective against armor in general than slashing weapons, I do not see why plate should suffer this penalty while scale , mail (etc) should not. I have never read anything in any history book that would indicate this, although I have read in many places that mail is quite poor against bashing weapons (although not in FH, oddly enough). If anything, plate would be the superior armor against this type of attack.