D&D -style spells, and other adventure related things

bpmasher

Been working over some details for my fantasy skirmish game and I thought I might as well use the D&D established worlds to run some dungeon adventures with miniatures. I'll use the prestige classes and feats (powers) from D&D probably converted to Hero, and I was thinking about using a similar spell system as D&D uses.

So, as a Hero newbie, I got as far as spells having variable charges (memorized spells) depending on character "levels", so spells get added charges as soon as the character grows in power (freestyle though, like Hero is). PCs can choose which spells they gain affinity with, and get to add character points to those spells in order to increase their power and amount of charges allowed.

What sort of limitation would work as required rest period to charge up spells again? More exactly, how much worth is a limitation that requires rest after a set number of charges have been used?

Downtime comes, the dungeon is cleared, and the PCs get some deserved R&R at the local tavern -> PCs get ready for another adventure/skirmish. Fighter types can use their looted gold to buy new weapons and learn new maneuvers, spellcasters use hard-earned experience to level up their skills and spells. Rinse and repeat. The challenge would come from the deadly combat and leveled fights by finding out proper monster character point amounts and gradually introducing more dangerous monsters into the game.

So far the game is conceptually just a fantasy combat simulator, using optional combat rules from Hero to add depth to the skirmish -style combat, but as the characters grow in power, the scope of the game could grow too to include mass combat or such things for example. A campaign map could be used from any of the D&D setting books to establish locations and the type of terrain the battles will be fought in (what color the terrain mat is :), so the game has a sense of adventure in it.