Turns, Segments, Phases and simulation

DrTemp

I am relatively new to Hero System, and I think, as far as I can say up to now, I like it.

There is one thing, however, which kind of bothers me:

Combat turns are divided into 12 Segments of 1 second each. SPD tells us when a character

is allowed to make his moves- which means, Joe Average is not supposed to be able to act every second,

but merely every six seconds.

Of course that does not mean that Joe will act and then freeze for six seconds until it's his turn again, but

that it takes him that long to actually prepare and perform the action. From a pure gaming perspective, this may be

interesting, make sense in the name of game balance etc..

But from a simulation POV: Is there actually a human being who is that slow? I simply can't imagine that.

Are there any "official" optional rule-replacements for this turn sequence? If no, what would be your ideas/suggestions?

Re: Turns, Segments, Phases and simulation

On the other hand most game systems have a 6 second turn, exactly equal to joe average, only trained agents and supers go faster.

No there are no optional official rules. Its the core of the system and to change it in any way is blasphemy, along with using str and 2 in the same sentence.

if your unhappy with the spd chart and combat issues just make everone the same spd, or use combat rounds and add spd to characters cv.

and my mums that slow, bless her.

In real life fights, it often takes way more than 6 seconds to throw a punch, mostly because of people pausing and watching each other, or in boxing matches, getting into clinches. The way turns work in Hero and most other RPGs is more like how fights are in a movie or comic book.

I once read a GURPS supplement that tried to simulate those pauses by rolling a die for the amount of turns between pauses. Maybe introducing a random element like that would help you get more realistic results.