Technocracy HERO

Metaphysician

Re: Technocracy HERO

Could be. In my "World of Darkness" campaigns (vampires, werewolves, extra mages and hold the angst), the Technocracy never took center stage. All the mages were "orphans" (i.e., self-taught with no connection to any sort of real magical tradition), and their only knowledge of the Technocracy came from an NPC mage who looked and sounded suspiciously like Trinity from THE MATRIX. She sounded like a paranoid lunatic, but they couldn't be sure she wasn't right.

My only real suggestion is that the Technocracy should be played straight. They're good guys, at least in their own eyes. Yes, they're ruthless. Yes, they want absolute control of the world--but it's in a good cause. For uncounted millennia the supernatural has ruled the world; humans have been pawns, slaves, food, to various creatures from vampires to werewolves to gods, and magic has been a powerful, chaotic force throughout history.

With the establishment of the Technocracy and their attempt to formalize and regularize the workings of the world, they have a chance--at last--to slam the door shut on the last of the monsters...and bolt it forever. If this means imprisoning, mind-controlling or murdering all the vampires, werewolves, mages and other reality deviants along the way, well, omelettes and eggs.

I don't know, thats the thing: If I were yanking them out of their home setting to be used as the Good Guys, I'd want to cut down on the ruthless genocide aspect. Sending in the MiBs to raid a gathering of Nephandic cultists: good. Sending in the MiBs to raid a church where the priest is doing healings: bad.