Damage: Realistic vs. Epic

dropblack

I’m new to the Hero System, and I’m still studying the rules (so please forgive me if I’m missing something obvious). So far I’m very impressed with its versatility. It seems to be a good system for smash-them-up epic battles during which combatants suffer large amounts of damage and keep getting up for more. While I can appreciate the role-playing entertainment value of not killing off the player’s characters every time an NPC starts shooting a revolver, I also appreciate having the option of adding a gritty realism to my games (e.g. a goblin waves a spear, and it’s actually threatening). For obvious reasons I find myself comparing HS to GURPS, a system I respect for its realism—at least in regards to the value of damage. Is there an optional rule that makes Killing Damage more deadly? I’ve noticed the Hero System Combat book on the game store shelf, but haven’t leafed through it yet—perhaps it contains some ideas?)?

:slap:

Re: Damage: Realistic vs. Epic

Wounding, Hit Locations, Impairing, Disabling and Bleeding will all make combat more gritty and realistic. Assuming you have 5th Edition Revised, check out the optional rules that start on p414.

The other main factor to keep in mind is how you build your PC's and NPC's. If you want a goblin witha spear to be a threat, it needs to have enough damage classes, combat value and defenses to actully threaten the PC's.

The Combat Handbook reprints the Combat Rules from the main book and has rules compiled together from (I believe) six other sources. You may want to check it out if you are looking for more options. It's also good to have around mid game when players need to reference something, especially if not every one has their own main book yet.

Guest WhammeWhamme