Where do you go for Fantasy Artwork?

Herolover

Okay here is the problem.

I am working on my Fantasy Hero campaign and instead of saying, "Well it looks like this." I want to be able to show my players. Problem is, I am talentless as far as art goes. I do good on stick figures, but little else.

So, what websites or rpg books do you get your art from?

I do take commissions.

I'm not cheap, $45.00 per figure, but it is color. And I have a lot of experience doing fantasy art.

But when I run my own fantasy game, what I don't draw, I do find a lot of art on the net. Not great dpi, but it serves to show the players; "this is what you see".

Epilogue is great for monsters and lots of fantasy women, including fey women (lots and lots of anime women). And every day, there is 10 to 60 new drawings ( I check it quickly ever 3 days or so).

En World has a thread that has some really good architecture threads by a couple of guys who know CAD real well.

Renderosity is 3d, but has a crude search engine. Want "wizards"? Type it in.

Video game concept art is where I score both for superspies (think doom art or soldier of fortune series) and for fantasy (think Warcraft, many of the console fantasy rpgs). Now I tend to lurk on those sites because I play a lot of PC games, so I'm going to those sites with another purpose in mind. If I happen to stumble on an image that I like....

...whenever I see artwork that I like, I right click and save into one of two files. One file is SCIFI/Supers images. The other is Fantasy Images. Even if I don't know why or how I'm going to use that image. I make an effort to try and find stuff my players don't know... so I don't swipe the main character from Devil May Cry or Vice City... too well known... but some of the supporting cast in the development sketches? That is enough seperation for me to put my personality into the NPC.

Wow. A lot of great links.