New to Champions/HERO need Startup Info

tiermanm

Hello,

I'm new to Champions/HERO system but my RL friends want to play it. So i need some suggestion on the Basic books NEEDED to play champions. I need info on Creating Characters and Running Campaigns. My RL friend said I only need the first book, but he didnt know the name of it.

Thanks in advance

Mark

Re: New to Champions/HERO need Startup Info

You need the Hero System Rules 5th Edition Revised. You can get it here at the store in either book form (it will be shipped to you) or in PDF which means you can download it. This is the only book you need. That and about 20 six sided dice and you are ready to go.

You might also want a genre book as well. You can get Champions as well. This covers the super genre.

I would also suggest a setting book too. There is Millennium City and Vibora Bay which are settings in the super genre.

Hello,

I'm new to Champions/HERO system but my RL friends want to play it. So i need some suggestion on the Basic books NEEDED to play champions. I need info on Creating Characters and Running Campaigns. My RL friend said I only need the first book, but he didnt know the name of it.

Thanks in advance

Mark

The only book you need is called Sidekick: this is a introductory version of the main rule book called Hero System 5th edition revised

Don't let the introductory version throw you off, sidekick is a full system in itself, you will find a few things sidekick can't do, but it should get you started and it is only ~$10.

This assumes you know a bit about what super heroes can do and the common tropes of their stories, etc...

In time you will want to upgrade to 5th Revised, but I can not stress this enough SIDEKICK is the book to get while your learning the system, the difference is about 450 pages of OPTIONS in 5th edition revised, the size of the 5th edition book is daunting and can make it hard to learn, opposed to the (I think) 96 pages of sidekick...