Need help for a low-level / street-level-campaign

Steffen

Although I’ve been running a superhero campaign for a few months now I still consider myself new to this genre.

While I have a fairly clear idea of the campaign in general, I’m in need of suggestions and tips concerning rescue missions, heroic deeds and stories suitable for low-powered heroes (standard heroic) that are not part of the overall storyline that I can occasionally throw at my players as a diversion and to show them that people need their help.

While the brick and the teleporter want to use their powers to help people, the electric energy projector doesn’t see a good reason to do so (the player is unwilling to play good, helpful characters) and the Nightcrawler rip-off is just… present (the player is unable to make decisions).

Maybe it’s also helpful to know that the year is 2003 in the “real” world and the characters are the first superbeings. Only a few people know about their existence, to the media and the public they are no more than an urban legend. There have only been a few sightings and just a few heroic exploits.

So, does anybody have suggestions for me or knows published modern-day adventures (game system is not important) including crimes, murders, non-super human opponents and detective work?

I’ll probably go to the “Internationale Spieltage SPIEL” in Essen next week and hope to find some suggested books.

Thanks! :)

Re: Need help for a low-level / street-level-campaign

I'd recommend putting the onus on the player' date=' and ask him what motivates his character and what kinds of adventures/scenarios would engage both the character and the player.[/quote']

I agree. If he "bought into" the original campaign concept, he's not holding up his end of the bargain. If he didn't...you need to reach some kind of agreement on what sort of game (and what sort of character) will suit you both.