Building powers help for a newbie

Ramlatus

I have a few questions. I am new to HERO System and hope to form a group to play RPGs with. After some research it HERO System looks to be the closest to what I am looking for for my sci-fi game. I of course am daunted by the amount of work I have to put in to begin a game since I have to build a setting and such from scratch. I am having trouble building some pieces of equipment I wish to put n the equipment tables.

I don't understand the scope examples from the HERO System Equipment Guide. I was trying to reverse build the telescopic scope x2. It lists its Active Points Cost at 12, but the table don't describe how the powers are built. It gives hints, but I could not find a power stat block for me to look at for comparison purposes. This is what I have so far, but it does not match with the 12 Active Point cost from the chart.

The campaign is a Heroic campaign where the PCs buy most of their equipment with currency.

Scope: Ranged Penalty Level (+2 vs range modifiers for sight group) (2 Action Points); OAF (-1), Only When Shooter Braces And/Or Sets (-1), Real Weapon (-¼) (Total Cost: 1 points) Plus +1 PER vs darkness (Sight Group) (2 Active Points); OAF (-1), Only When Shooter Braces And/Or Sets (-1), Only to Counteract Darkness Modifiers (-½), Real Weapon (-¼) (Total Cost: 1 points). Combined Total Cost: 2 points.

The text indicates that the requires two-hands limitation was left off because the scope could be put onto a pistol so I left is off as well.

I am also trying to build blasters with power packs. I am using the endurance reserve because it will let me build a battery without having it as part of the weapon. This way characters can buy and carry extra power packs without having in automatically attached to a weapon. I want the power pack to sparate from the weapon.

Now should I add the power pack as a second power attached to the multipower framework itself like this:

Blaster Pistol Type II

Cost – Power