Character Creation Question: Creates with Energy

MuensterCheese

As a bit of background information, I will be GM'ing a Champions campaign with 4 11-year-olds.  I don't have a GM to look to, and I have no experience with actually playing the game yet.  But I've read Champions Complete at least 4 times.

We were creating the last of the 4 characters Saturday night and his first ability I don't know how to create.  His inspiration is Green Lantern, whom I don't know much about.  This player wants his character to create just about anything with energy.  OK, so he wants a Summon power with Slavishly loyal since he can only summon (create) inanimate objects with this energy.  The area of effect is limited to 1 cubic meter and the range is limited to No Range, since it's always created right in front of him.  And he also needs to move his arms around to create it, so that's the gestures limitation.

But now where do I go?  He wants this creative energy to become ANY inanimate object, but sometimes that object looks like a Power to me.  For instance, he wants to be able to create a shield which is Barrier, non-anchored, cannot englobe, restricted shape, no range.  He wants to be able to change that shield to a sword, which is hand-to-hand attack, I suppose.  But he may opt for a warhammer, club, screwdriver, computer, waste basket, candy, sunglasses, keys, and other objects.

I have no idea what to do.  I told these guys we could build any character they want, and he comes to me with this.  I based my claim off the Champions advertising.  That's pretty clever, wanting a character that essentially never needs to buy so much as a pocketknife to get by in life, since he can create a temporary one.  But that just seems way over-powered and way too difficult to create.  Assuming I allow him to create such a power, how should I go about it?  Does this power generate other powers?  Do these generated powers get put in a VPP since he can't possibly use them at the same time?