Character Creation

ShadowRaptor

I was wondering what kinds of steps the many of you take when you decide to make a character. Do you guys write down your backgrounds first, or just work with the points and do the background first, or something else?

I ask because I am new with the system still, its a lot to digest and a lot to get used to, and the one character i made took over 3 hours to make. It was okay, but not that great in my opinion, so I am just curious what you all do and how long it takes you to do it.

Perhaps I will pick up some pointers that will help me out more. :D

Starting a Character

You are bound to get a lot of responses.

I would say, start with the background. Or if not with "background" then with something you know you want your character to do or be. Then start reflecting that character conception in the system. For a beginner it is very hard to get started without a little guidance from whoever is running the game - if your conception doesn't include a lot of weapon skill and you think a DEX 14 and one level with sword is just enough to hold your own with a goblin or bandit while the other players do the bulk of the fighting, and then you find the average goblin has a DEX of 8 and no levels, and tends to go down with one or two blows of your shortsword, you have failed to embody your character conception (and discovered you could have put those points elsewhere.) If you think a Riding skill of 14 or less makes you a Master Horseman, you will be disappointed if every knight in the tournament has that much.

More experienced players may "start with points" and think out their characters largely in terms of what points are spent where, but that is not necessarily a BETTER way. The character you really love is going to be the one based on one or more really cool ideas.