Learning Hero

I'm a total Hero system newbie, having never played or run a game with the system before. I just picked up 5thEdRev and Sidekick. I'd like to run a super hero game and so I turned straight to the grandaddy of them all, Champions/Hero. My big question is, how do I go about learning the system well enough to run a game for my players who will also be Hero newbies. At first I tried tackling the main 5th edition rules, but found it a little tough to get through at first. Sidekick seems a little easier to start off with. What now? I'm still feeling a bit overwhelmed with the system and not comfortable enough to start running a game. Unfortunately, there aren't any other Hero games around that I can sit in on as a player. If I want people to start playing Champions or Hero, I have to be the one to introduce them.

It seems like quite a lot to handle at the beginning, any tips on learning the system and getting up to speed as a GM would be appreciated. Help me before I give up and just go with Mutants and Masterminds!

Thanks

• 2 weeks later...

Re: Learning Hero

I'm a total Hero system newbie, having never played or run a game with the system before. I just picked up 5thEdRev and Sidekick. I'd like to run a super hero game and so I turned straight to the grandaddy of them all, Champions/Hero. My big question is, how do I go about learning the system well enough to run a game for my players who will also be Hero newbies. At first I tried tackling the main 5th edition rules, but found it a little tough to get through at first. Sidekick seems a little easier to start off with. What now? I'm still feeling a bit overwhelmed with the system and not comfortable enough to start running a game. Unfortunately, there aren't any other Hero games around that I can sit in on as a player. If I want people to start playing Champions or Hero, I have to be the one to introduce them.