Help with Old West Weapon design

tcabril

I need a bit of help designing weapons and firearms for my Old West game that I have been working on (thanks to all of you who have piped in with helpful suggestions).

Before I begin I have to state that I am new to the Hero System game so some of my questions may seem rather simple in nature.

I am going through the process of designing weapons for my game (and when I am done I hope to post them here so others can access to my versions of period weapons) and I read the chapter and now as I go to reverse engineer the weapons that are provided I get all messed up.

For example a .38 Derringer had 1d6 damage and has an A/R Cost of 15/3 [This works as 1d6 of RKA costs 15pts and I believe you divide by 5 as it’s a weapon to get the 3 real cost – am I correct?] Should there be Advantages and or Limitations here as well?

Here is another Example: .357 Colt Python with 1 ½ d6 Damage and an A/R Cost of 27/8. Here is how I think this one works -> 1 ½ d6 = 25 Active points (15 for the 1d6 +10pts for the ½ d6) and then I figured the other 2 pts came from the +1 OCV somehow.

Another example (one that does not work): a .45 Colt Peacemaker with 2d6-1 damage has an A/R cost of 34/9. I cannot back into this number no matter what I do.

So can someone PLEASE help me in the weapon design process?

1. How is A/R figured out?

2. Do you have to figure in OCV adjustments to cost and STUNx to cost?

3. How are Advantages and Limitations figured in or are then sort of netted with the /5 thing?

Re: Help with Old West Weapon design

I don't have my books with me so I can't give you the page numbers but there are rules for building weapons in 6E2. You don't divide by 5. You build them just like Powers with the Focus Limitaion, Charges, Real Weapon Limit,and STR Min(the last two are in 6E2).