Gimme some Opinions

Dinofreak2000

this is my first time posting (atleast i think it is, i only just made this account) and for a good reason. All you out there are Hero's fans. I hope all of you also have experience withit (i prefere to not assume, but if you look above i did with the fan bit).

So, i have been playing these things (RPGs that is) for 14 years now, over half my life, great that. And have become dis-enchanted with Palladium's clunky system, FASA's (though FASA is no gone, leaving a Wizkid in their place) odd sense of RPing (no offense to be taken, just my opinion) and the current incarnation of D&D (and then tyhere are those dark days of White Wolf and so many others it drives me crazy).

My quest has brought me as of late to two systems. On one hand i have experience in GURPS (please, hold your breakfast lunch and Dinner till the end) with it's many facets (from cave men to Jedi). But always i have had in interest with my other hand which balances HERO system.

Now, before i go and dispose of the vast collection of RPG tomes that i own, i would like anyone's opinion on which system is, in their opinions, better. GURPS or HERO?

Both offer what i seek, but to an extent i want something new and with less books (to often i pick up a GURPS book only to berefered to 5-8 other GURPS books as i read through it).

I have read so many rants and raves for each system. Both seem fan-blooming-tastic! So please dispell the only points i see having a problem getting an swer on everywhere else.

Well, to re-iterrate, which is best? and so i can get alittle more info here are a couple other questions:

How is magic simulated in Hero? Psionics?

Experience system and character growth?

How long does it actually take to make a character? average

How "complicated" is combat? how exactly does it work?

how does the system lend itself to ad hoc GMing?