Champions and horror mechanics

Monick51

Hi, I'm brand new to the Hero system and I really like it! I've been making characters in hero designer and slowly wrapping my head around the rules with Champions complete. I have a campaign idea that I want to run but I need help mechanically realizing the higher concept stuff. 

The premise is that people gain powers via a new drug that temporarily gives powers based on genetics (hence why the same drug can give different powers to different people). Each time they use the drug they gain powers but at the cost of slowly eroding their humanity.  I realized that I want the characters to almost be like lovecraft protagonists and the powers they gain are the equivalent of eldritch knowledge, miraculous and defying logic but also slowly degrading their body and mind. 

The reason I am making this post is because I have the vision, but I don't have the fluent knowledge of the rules to make it work. Any ideas on how this sort of thing could be portrayed mechanically? I know that there's an old source book called Horror Hero, I have not looked into it yet, would that be a good place to start or would it be a waste of time?  

One way to do it would be to require characters to take additional complications when they gain powers.   For every x points of power they have to have y amount of complications.  Since this will affect all characters it is not a limitation on the powers.   For example every 50 points of powers requires 5 point of complications.  The character can buy skills and other abilities, but any powers gained by using the drug have its price.  Put some limits on what complications can be used for this.  For Example, picking up a DNPC is not appropriate, but becoming hideously deformed is.