"Point inflation" in Hero

Jhaierr

Here's something I've been mulling over for a few months.

I've been with Hero ever since 4th edition Big Blue Book. Since 5E and 5ER and all the (fantastic) new books since, I've begun to notice a slow trend with Hero: it's what I refer to as "point inflation".

A few years ago, when I first read how superheroes (by default) will now get 350 points total to work with instead of the old 250, I thought: Fantastic! This will allow me to make supes that have the appropriate level of power, even a standard beginning superhero. :D And so it did! I reworked and remade lots of characters and refit them, expanding their abilities, making them super-keen.

But since the beginning of 5th edition, I've begun to notice that many of the "core" books of Hero, mainly the 5ER book and the Ultimate series, seem to be subtly upping the amount of points you need to create the character you want to create. For instance: power pools of "[archetype] tricks" that might've been assumed or worked out on the fly before, and lots of new adders and advantages that (to me) seem to express things that the GM might've assumed already (e.g., flight working underwater assuming the SFX was appropriate).

Not to say that those are bad. Actually, they are quite cool. But it does mean more points that need to be spent to buy them.

Has anyone else noticed this? If so, do you guys feel this is a good direction? I do like the new additions and ideas, but I also value simplicity in a game system as well.

• Replies 140
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Re: "Point inflation" in Hero

I made a post on another thread (that Zornwill sigged cheer.gif) talking about just that... so yeah I noticed.