Cost of aid?

M-3

Sorry of this has already been done to death here. I'm new to these fora. I looked around and couldn't find any discussion on it.

Anyways:

I was wondering why the cost of Aid has gotten doubled since the previous edition?

It seemed a bit expensive to me before and it looks like a really bad deal to me now with the present cost. It's not in the errata, so I'll assume it isn't a typo.

Particularly with the "Self Only" it becomes a bad deal. For 13 pts, for example, I can boost a power or characteristic by 2D6 pts that will fade at the rate of 5 pts per turn. I can't really see why anyone would want to do that when they could just purchase 13 pts worth of the characteristic in question permanently.

Any thoughts on this? Anything I'm missing? Steve?

Thanks in advance,

M.

There are a number of ways to make Aid a perfectly reasonable, or even abusive, Power. However, I'll start with the most fundamental change: Aid now costs 0 Endurance. That makes up for half the cost difference right there.

You can put Aid in a Multipower, use it to up your Characteristic, then switch to another slot (possibly boosting that Characteristic still more).

You can buy up the Aid maximum as a 2:1 offer, allowing you to boost the Characteristic more than buying it straight, if you have the time.

Without the Self Only Limtation, of course, you can just keep slapping it on your party. A 6d6 Strength or Dexterity Aid is quite powerful: give your buddy +20 STR, then give your other buddy a +20 STR, and so on.

Of course, my cat is currently keeping me from accessing my book by sitting on my chest, so I could be wrong about some detail.

Well, I suppose it could be made to work out to something that isn't completely horrendous with some creative use of ads and lims but by default it strikes me as being a bit overpriced. Especially considering that Succor bought to 0 END only costs 7.5 pts per +1D6.