Learning how to play HERO

kjamma4

There is really no point to this thread other than an observation on my own personal experience, especially as to how it relates to the "ease" of learning HERO.

When D&D 3.0 first came out, I bought the core books. I had been playing D&D and other roleplaying games for many years so I was not new to the hobby. However, it did take a while for my group to get up to speed on the game as all of us were new to that specific edition. The players were learning as the DM was learning. I recall reading the Player's Handbook through a few times and remember Attacks of Opportunity causing a few rereads.

I played HERO for the first time at GenCon 2005 and the game had two experienced players and an experienced GM. It was pretty simple to learn the core mechanics with their help. Following GenCon, I joined a regular group run by one of the players at GenCon. With an experienced game master, I have learned alot more of the game. When I reread the rules of HERO, they make perfect sense, especially those that I have experienced through gaming.

For my particular case, it was actually harder to learn the D20 rules of D&D 3.0 sufficient enough to play than it was to get the same understanding in HERO. Of course it is impossible to say whether that would have been the case had I had to learn the HERO rules "on my own" or if I would have been "taught" the D20 rules. However, I have seen my own kids learn both D20 and HERO by being "taught" and I don't see much of a difference.

I guess my point is that I don't completely agree with those people who say that the HERO system has a steep learning curve (and I will admit that ANY game is easier to learn when shown how to play as opposed to self taught).

Also, based upon my limited experience, it would be much easier to learn the HERO system once in order to play a plethora of genres than to learn a variety of "easier" systems to play those same genres.