Starting over

Bygoneyrs

Hello everyone,

I am new to this form but not new to Champions or RPGing at all. I am

a 44 yr old gamer that has played D&D and Traveller for close to 32 yrs.

I started playing Champions in v2 and have collected it since. Over the

years I have loved the Hero's system, and have often wanted to

convert my own D&D campaign and Traveller campaign to using Hero's

system.

Now in the last couple of years I have collected everything I could get

my hands on for D&D v3.5, and anything Traveller. At the same time

my oldest son age 12, has started to play RPG himself and has fully

taken to the Hero's sytem. Thus I have purchased for him all the books

out for v5 Hero's (Champions, Dark Champions, Fantasy Hero, and

Star Hero) I will also purchase the New Traveller Hero books, and

PA genre as well too.

So having a great resource library at my finger tips(I love hard copy

books ONLY), I now want to begin the task of converting my D&D

campaign into a Fantasy Hero campaign. Yes I know that D&D is

about to release a new v4 version of the game up from v3.5. I have

spent far to much on loads of books to do it again. When I think of

all the different books for D&D, AD&D, v2, v2.5, v3, and v3.5 I'm

not doing it again. They killed off both the Dragon and Dungeon

mags, and I have them from issue #1s of each...I refuse to continue

to support that system any more. My son doesn't really like the D20

system, and perfers the Hero's system.

Now that there is a conversion path for me to take both my D&D

campaign into Fantasy Hero, and my Traveller campaign into

Traveller Hero..I am extremely happy. Heck now with PA, I can

even bring Gamma World back to life again as well too.

So starting with my Fantasy campaign which I have DM'd now with

multiple groups for over 20 yrs, how best might I start converting

that to Fantasy Hero? Any thoughts on this redesign path? Also

what is this I hear of a new updated/revised Fantasy Hero core