Tools / Assistance for New GMs

Hey everybody! I'm relatively new to the Hero System -- I played in a short Champions (4th ed. I think) campaign back around 1994 -- and I'm trying to run a weekly Fantasy Hero (low fantasy) campaign for a group of 5 players, most of whom have never played the system.

I started preparing for the campaign by reading all of the 6th Edition books from cover to cover (Character Creation, Combat & Adventuring, and Advanced Players Guide); so, I have at least a passing familiarity with all of the rules, but in-depth knowledge of relatively few of them.

To get the campaign started, we spent a couple of game sessions creating the characters and then running them through a few "scenarios" to get a feel for the game mechanics (a couple of "mock" combats, over-coming obstacles / cliff-climbing, social interraction / information gathering, and stealth activities -- the stuff that will come into play in most fantasy campaigns).

The campaign has been running for a couple of weeks now, and there are a few problems I'd like to figure out how to address:

1) Combat seems to run slowly. It's not so much that it takes a long time for each individual to act, it just seems to take a long time for the fights to end. It may be that the PCs don't have enough DCs in their attacks, or that the NPCs have too much rPD/rED...I tried to use the guidelines I found of about 2-3 points of defense per DC in the average attack. The PCs average about 5 or 6 DCs in their attacks (max is 9), and the NPCs they've been battling typically have 9(6) PD(rPD). Is this too much? Are there any other "tricks" to speeding up combat?

2) I typically work 45-60 hours / week, so I have relatively little time to prepare for my weekly game sessions. I've found that having to create full character sheets for "throw-away" NPCs too time-consuming, so I'm trying to find a "stripped down" character sheet suitable for such NPCs, but I haven't had too much luck.