New to Champions & HERO System

endou_kenji

I'm new to Champions & HERO and would like to know where to start.

I have the Champions Complete book, and while it's great, I borrowed a friend's "Champions: The Super Roleplaying Game" (the 6th edition one). Somehow, I felt the Champions Complete digs very much into rules minutiae, but not as much setting as "Champions: the Super RPG". Also, being B&W, it felt strange to have a core book in B&W and a supplement in full-color.

Anyone care to elucidate?

And the "Powers" and "Beyond" books, what does it contain?

What's the difference between "Champions: the Super RPG" and the "Champions Universe" book?

Are there any useful (useful in Champions, that is) core HERO System books that I should look forward to?

Welcome to Hero!

Champions Complete provides everything you need to play. It includes both the Hero System rules (the rules minutiae), and genre information focusing on super heroes and villains (along with notes on other genres). You cannot play using the  Champions book you borrowed. It is strictly genre material that does not include any of the core rules.

My advise is to use Champions Complete. You do not need any other books to play. Get used to the system, ask questions here on the forums, etc. The other books you mention provide pre-built powers (the Powers book) and more genre information (Champions Beyond). 

Once you are comfortable with how the system works, if you want to investigate other books, feel free. At this point I think they'll just muddy the waters for you. You can find descriptions of the various books in the Store (or places like DriveThru RPG).

(queue everyone else giving you their list of must-have books)

I'm new to Champions & HERO and would like to know where to start.