I'll Never Play Pulp

Edsel

I'll buy the book and probably enjoy reading it and wishing to play a game of Pulp Hero but I doubt that I will ever get a chance to play it. Our RPG group plays Hero System most of the time. DC and FH are our usual fare but we also venture into Champions, SH and other genre from time to time.

The problem is that I am the only one of us that seem to have any interest in that particular era. The group seems to have a dead-spot in history that none of them are interested in. This seems to extend from the dawn of firearms until the modern era. Anything before or after this time period is pretty much enjoyed by the whole group. Alas I majored in history in college and would love to play a Victorian-era or Pulp-era game someday. :cry:

Oh well, perhaps I can use some of the stuff from PH to run some non-traditional, modern-era, pulp-style games.

Guest Black Lotus

Re: I'll Never Play Pulp

Are you the gamemaster of your group?

If they're unwilling to play, that's up to them... you could possibly find another group of players to try a few sessions of Pulp HERO. That's assuming your regulars are mature enough not to get upset or feel put off by it.

I'm betting you can "swindle" ;) them all into playing a few sessions, though. Be persuasive! Be underhanded!

Hmm... sounds like you should consider enticing your group with the wilder brands of pulp adventures. ;) Mention some of the many notable characters from the era that they may have heard of, and how you can play games reminiscent of their adventures. For example, Dark Champions-style high powered vigilantes like the Spider or the Green Hornet; fantastical, borderline superhuman characters such as the Shadow, Doc Savage, and Tarzan; retro sci-fi in the vein of Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers, or even sci-fi swashbuckling like John Carter of Mars; lost-world romances full of dinosaurs and hidden cities from ancient civilizations (if you haven't got it yet, hunt down Lands of Mystery!)