Need Book Recommendations

Vondy

I am going to be tutoring an teenage anglo boy to prepare him for the bagrut exam for English (essentially a matriculation exam). He's bright, but due to family problems (he's living with foster parents), and having been moved here with no language skills he's not in school and two years behind. I'm not a professional teacher, and I'm not getting paid, but the kid has got to have some help. The entire situation is screwed up. The issue is, I need something that will interest him as a starting point - from there we can take a left handed step to other kinds of books. He's very into science fiction and loves Orson Scott Card's Ender's Game series. I'm not huge on science fiction, but I understand it. Can someone suggest similar books, or other books and authors that a Card fan might enjoy?

Re: Need Book Recommendations

I'd suggest David Brin's Uplift series. Engaging plots (not too simple, but not twisted and difficult to follow). The english is polished but simple (similar in level to Card's books) and the plots tend to hum along at a fair speed. The content is teen-acceptable: no gratuitous naughty bits or gross violence.

A bonus is that each book is part of a series but can be read as a stand-alone if you can't get your mitts on the whole lot at once. Like the Ender's Games series, they have a serious theme at core (genocide vs self defence, creating life vs responsibility for same) but it's a theme touched only lightly in the books themselves. Also like the Ender's Game series, war/conflict features prominently but not of the blow-by-blow fighting style (they're no Hammer's Slammers :D).

And there's 6 of them, so if it works, it should get you off the hook for a couple of weeks at least. :D Good luck!

cheers, Mark