YOUR RL Skills

Pattern Ghost

I was just thinking about campaign guidelines I've seen that say your super has to take at least 50 pts in Skills. I think at least part of the reason behind this was a reaction by GMs to the 350 point build totals of 5th Edition. Perhaps partly to avoid characters with every power in the book or to encourage fleshing out characters with skills to add dimension to them.

But, really, if your origin is "I'm an Accountant who got struck magic lightning" then do you really NEED to buy any more than Everyman skills to stay in concept?

How many of us have actual Hero System skills? Aside from the Background Skills (PS, KS, CK, SS, etc.), all the rest of the skills are Adventuring skills. I don't think most of us have too many of those, though it's quite possible to be a real person and have a good selection of them.

Here's my origin story: I went into the Army at the age of 18 after graduating High School. I attended DLI where I learned Spanish, and became an MP. I also served for a while as our Unit Armorer. Aside from Army training, I've spent a lot of my own time on the range, particularly firing handguns, and I'm a pretty capable (though not competition level) marksman. After the Army, I went to college for a couple years to study business, then became a computer tech. Other hobbies/interests include reptile husbandry, reading SF/Fantasy, comics, gaming, and a bit of Poker (both myself and my wife have placed in the money in local tournaments.)

Here's what I get beyond Everyman skills from the above:

WF: Military Small Arms

A couple of OCV levels with Hanguns.

A couple of PSLs to offset range.

*Maybe* Martial Escape, Martial Grab, and Choke Hold from MP training and additional training outside normal channels.

FAM with Survival, Navigation, Weaponsmith, Gambling and Paramedics

Lang: Spanish

Teamwork and Stealth would be the only full 3pt skills I'd give myself, both from inclination and training.

PS: Soldier