Character Background

DusterBoy

I'm posting this here because I'm working on a Champions character right now. I know his stats and powers, etc, are (roughly) but I'm having a right old time figuring out his background except in the vaguest terms, mainly because I have very little experience of any city except Oxford, and I really can't see it as a City of Heroes, as it were.

So what I want to know is, how do you lot come up with the backgrounds for your characters? It is background first, or do you figure it out afterwards?

Any advice, information, etc, you can give me would ge greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Re: Character Background

I usually think out the character first as what the vague sort of power is (ice powers, The ability to control machinery etc). Then I think of something to make him unique, like a police officer who can control machinery, or a woman who can only cover herself with ice can't manipulate it. Usually I do the two at the same time. Here is an example of how I came up with my idea the Silver Knight for an upcoming game:

The Gm told me he was doing a low powered super game, 250 points in total. I thought to myself, "Now what is low powered? I got it a weapon master!" I had Ultimate Martial Artist and Fantasy Hero, so I decided why not a medieval knight? But I didn't want a time traveller (Too cliche) or someone who used modern technology to replicate it (I feared it would make him too powerful).

So after reading Mystic World, I came up with the idea he was an imaginary friend! This meant I didn't need intense knowledge of the middle ages, since the character's world was fictional. I made the child who thought him up a young girl (Not every girl dreams of glittering vampires). I then thought, Now how do I make this interresting?