Total NEWB gushing over how amazing this forum is

I have visited the forums of another game system and in the three-or-four days I've been cruising this one, I find Hero Games forum far superior.

Rules Questions - They are posted and everyone gets to see it. That helps people think.

Which leads to this - Hero System is a thinking man's game. IMHO, the most important rules are "Reasoning from Effect", "Bending A Cheaper Power Into An Effect Is Less Valid Than Using A More Appropriate Albeit More Expensive Power" and "If The GM allows or disallows". These three rules require thinking. But 1,000 heads are better than 1 so bring a construct here and we all can think.

The other forum spends more time figuring out how to break rules, nerf rule breaks, nerf rules that are being abused, so on and so on. Here at Hero System, the three aforementioned rules aren't something that need to be broken or fixed. They are more akin to heuristics that play into one Metarule - "THINK!"

This forum is therefore far superior. I prefer to live by the Metarule "THINK!" rather than live by the Metarule implied by the other forum "OBEY!"

Re: Total NEWB gushing over how amazing this forum is

Ah' date=' young Grasshopper, you have passed the 1st test of HEROism. Now you must install the rocket on the Badger to pass the 2nd.[/quote']

I thought the second test was to build a flashlight using HERO.

You have hit on not only what is great about this forum but what is great about the HERO system in general. Because the Hero System "rules" aren't so much rules as a tool kit. building a character feels less like "What am I getting for my points" and more like putting something together with an erector set. If you are a min-maxer you will quickly become bored with Hero because there are so many ways to Min-max you don't even have to look for them. On the other hand if you want a framework to tell a STORY... Hero is AWESOME.