New to Hero question

Gandalf970

1 hour ago, Gandalf970 said:

I am just learning Hero, but I have a lot of Fantasy RPG experience.  I read that weapons can only double their DC for damage, does this include CSL and talents like Weaponmaster.  I am using 6E if that helps.  Thanks in advance.

Yes, in general, weapon damage is limited to being raised to twice the DC from all factors, including Combat Skill Levels, Martial Arts, Combat Manuvers and STR. 

I did a search and didn't really find my answer.  I want to use magic and don't want to stray to far from what The Grimoire uses or Fantasy Hero as the standard in my first play to get used to the mechanics.  Is there a magic roll against the Magic Skill and then the negatives by the spell and then you must roll the attack roll to see if it hits?  Also for endurance is it the active points as the END cost or the total without limitations?

If a spell or power has Requires a Skill Roll (RSR), then that roll would need to be made (with appropriate penalties) before the effect goes off. Depending on the type of spell or power, an additional attack roll may be necessary.

Active Points includes Advantages, but not Limitations. RSR penalties and END Cost are based upon Active Points.

Real Cost is the cost of the power or spell in Character Points, and is the Active Cost modified by Limitations.