Jump to content

Simon

Administrators
  • Content Count

    13,781
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    6

Everything posted by Simon

  1. You have two options, that I can see: 1. Purchase the Aid outside of the EC and link it to each slot. 2. Purchase the Aid multiple times....adding it into each slot as a Compound Power. Each slot is then a new power which is a combination of the original power and an Aid. From what you describe, (2) is likely the best way to do things, though if you're talking about a large-scale Aid it may get pricey.
  2. Yes and no. You can buy the negative Skill Levels and apply the Lims just fine. The only issue that you'll run into is if you place everything into a Compound Power -- HD will total the Active Costs of each component Power to come up with the total Active Cost. Because the negative Skill Levels have a negative Active Cost, the value that HD lists for the overall Active Cost of the ability will be less than the value listed in FREd. There's some ambiguity in FREd as to which method is correct....
  3. More notes: As noted on page 333, OCV penalties are bought as 5-point "negative" Skill Levels on a Focus (OAF; -1). This changes the math you have posted above. -2 OCV (as in the example with the Derringer) is -10 Active and -5 Real Cost.
  4. I've worked through most of them (in the process of checking over HD) and they all work out (or are noted as errors in the Errata). I'll use the .38 Special as an example, since it's simpler than the .38 Derringer in that it does not include negative skill levels: Killing Attack - Ranged 1d6 + 1; STR Minimum 7 (STR Min. Cannot Add/Subtract Damage; -1), OAF (-1), 6 Charges (-3/4), Real Weapon (-1/4), Beam (-1/4) Active Cost: 20 Real Cost: 5 Just like FREd states. In working out the .38 Derringer, if memory serves, the Real Cost total will actually work out to a nega
  5. Just realized: don't build your Automaton with Absorption to a Defense....it's not worth it. First (assuming you've got a "true Automaton" with Takes No STUN), the cost of all Defense Powers is tripled. Then you halve the effect of your Absorption. So you'll only go up by 1 PD for every 6 BODY Absorbed....
  6. Well whaddya know....never even noticed that one ;-) I'll just stick to handling the character creation software and leave the combat software to other folks
  7. I am aware of no such rule. Absorption adds to Defenses just like any other Power. The only statement in FREd (to my knowledge) about Absorption and Defenses is "...but if the Absorption increases any defenses applicable to the attack, only the pre-Absorption amount of defenses protects him that Segment..." -- I followed this in the "example" above. Absorption adds in 1 Character Point for every BODY Absorbed. PD is 1 Character Point per +1, therefore it is a 1/1 with the BODY Absorbed.
  8. OK...an example: I've got a guy with 10d6 Absorption versus Physical Damage. The Absorption goes to his PD. The character has a natural 20 PD (for the sake of argument). Combat begins. He's hit by a punch, taking 12d6 damage. The roll is average and he takes 42 STUN and 12 BODY. His Absorption give him +12 PD now. He takes 22 STUN from the attack. So far so good. Next time he's hit by the same attack, he takes only 10 STUN, and his PD goes up another 12 points. He's now at a respectable 44 PD. After only 2 hits. Third hit does the same damage. He no longe
  9. The values posted above are all correct. Figured Characteristics, as the name implies, are "figured" from the primary characteristic values. For example (as noted above): PD = STR / 5 As your strength goes up, so does your PD. Your base PD. Primary characteristics have a fixed "base" value (10). Figured Characteristics have a varying base value, determined by the actual value of the Characteristics that they are based off of. Your PD's base value changes with your Strength. You can also buy up your Figured Characteristics beyond their base value, the same way y
  10. Looks legal to me, though it would depend on the Telepathy not being in the MP (or any other Power Framework). You cannot Link two different slots of a Power Framework (or two slots of different Power Frameworks). One of the drawbacks of a Power Framework. I also wouldn't give the "Must communicate verbally" a -1/2. The cases in which this actually limits you are pretty rare, and the limitation is not terribly "limiting"....I'd call it a -1/4 tops. Unless you also want this to mean that you can only get to conscious thoughts....it would be very difficult to "verbalize" some subconsci
  11. I would say that it's not worth anything....it's not limiting the character in any way. How much are you using your senses when you're unconscious? About the only thing it does is open the character up to Drains and Suppresses (Flashes are already applicable). The chances of running into a Drain or Suppress for a given sense (instead of a Flash) are negligible....and the effect is the same as a Flash (pretty much), so the net disadvantage/limitation is nill. Call it a -0 Limitation or a 0-point Disad, if you want.....
  12. HDv2 is now beginning its public test phase! Here's the deal: If you have a full (purchased) copy of HDv1, you can upgrade it to v2. The upgraded version will be fully functional. The only limitation will be that you must be online whenever you start it up so that it can check its version against the test server. Anytime I change the version, you will need to pull down the new update before you can start up again. Beyond that, it will be a fully functioning copy of v2. If you do not have a full copy of HDv1, you can still try things out with the new demo version that is up there
  13. HDv2 is now beginning its public test phase! Here's the deal: If you have a full (purchased) copy of HDv1, you can upgrade it to v2. The upgraded version will be fully functional. The only limitation will be that you must be online whenever you start it up so that it can check its version against the test server. Anytime I change the version, you will need to pull down the new update before you can start up again. Beyond that, it will be a fully functioning copy of v2. If you do not have a full copy of HDv1, you can still try things out with the new demo version that is up there
  14. What Sense Group did he define the Detect as belonging to? If it's the Unusual Group, then your job in blocking it will be harder, but he would have had to have purchased Range, Targeting Sense, etc. Since he bought "Sense", it sounds like this is they method he chose (since Sense is automatic when it's assigned to any Sense Group except for Unusual and Mental). If it's been assigned to one of the other Sense Groups (like the Sight Group), then you can always just do a Flash against that Sense Group (you can't buy a Flash against the Unusual Group). If it's been assigned to the
  15. Simon

    PBEM game?

    Try checking out Hero Central (http://www.herocentral.net)....you'll find a number of games running (many of them Champions). I believe that there are several that are currently looking for players...or you can start a new one up. You also may want to try the Player Finder section of the forums.
  16. Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Character for review - Shiori HD's value for the SPD is correct. You do not get points back for "partial SPD". Per Steve. If you have a 15 DEX (giving you a 2.5 base SPD), and you sell your SPD to 1, you get 10 points back. The .5 only exists for the purposes of discounting the first upwards increment of SPD.
  17. Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Character for review - Shiori (edited because I'm a dope) He's got the Powers adding into the primary values. +3 SPD as a Power should give him a total of 5. He has a total of 3, however, so he sold off 2 SPD on the characteristics tab (leaving him an overall total of 3). +20 PRE as a Power should give him a total of 30. He has a total of 26, however, so he sold off 4 PRE on the characteristics tab (leaving him an overall total of 26).
  18. The reason (or at least part of it) for all of the complexity is that the reduction in cost from an EC is taken from the Active Cost of a slot (before Limitations are applied). When you're dealing with a Compound Power, where the Limitations and Active Costs of each part vary, you need to "balance" things in such a way that the overall reduction in cost is inline with what the EC should provide and each individual part of the Compound Power is reduced in proportion to its Active Cost. Because this reduction in cost is based on the Active Cost (not the Real Cost) of each part and is p
  19. To simply verbalize the rules on this (which I should have done originally): Definitions: CP The Compound Power that we're dealing with part An individual component of the CP Effect Active Cost The Active Cost of the part after it is adjusted by subtracting the EC discount For each part of the CP, you need to calculate the percentage of the overall discount from the EC to apply. This percentage is determined by the ratio of the part's Active Points to the overall Active Points of the CP. For example: EC value/"discount": 20 Total AP of the CP: 40 AP for a given
  20. It's close...but not quite there. Each power in a compound power is reduced proportionally to its active points. In your example, you have 20 points of total reduction to deal with from the EC. You have 40 total Active Points of Powers in your compound power (or partially limited power -- same thing). So far, so good. Power 1 has 15 AP. 15/40 = 3/8. (3/8)*20 = 7.5 AP (effective) Power 2 has 10 AP. 10/40 = 1/4. (1/4)*20 = 5 AP (effective) Power 3 has 10 AP. 10/40 = 1/4. (1/4)*20 = 5 AP (effective) Power 4 has 5 AP. 5/40 = 1/8. (1/8)*20 = 2.5 AP (effective
  21. Neither wrong nor a house rule, though I suspect we may be saying the same thing here. I'll go into some detail below to hopefully clear up any confusion..... If you place the Charges Limitation on the MP as a whole (reducing the cost of the MP itself), the the sum total of the charges for the MP (all slots combined) is the number of Charges that you have selected. Each slot gains the benefit of 0-END from the Charges, but the cost of the slot is unaffected by the Charges Limitation. If you place the Charges Limitation on an individual slot within the MP (not reducing the cost of t
  22. Yes, read the last sentence of my original post: If you want a specific number of chartes for each slot, you place the modifier on each slot and not on the MP as a whole, which is precisely what you did. The cost of the MP itself is not affected by the above construct (nor should it be, per the rules). If you put the Modifier on the MP itself, then the entire MP (all slots) would have a total of 16 Charges.
  23. Fuel Charges cannot be applied unless Continous Charges are bought. Continuous Charges cannot be applied to non-Constant Powers (or Powers that purchase the Continuous Advantage separately from Charges). Charges placed on a MP affect the entire MP. They are not applied to each slot. For example, if you have 12 Charges on your MP, the combined total of ALL slots is 12....not 12 per slot. If you want 12 per slot, you buy Charges on each slot, but not on the MP as a whole.
  24. I honestly don't think that this is a flaw. All it's saying is that at a certain point, the "limitation" of having only X charges isn't really limiting the character enough to be worth any points. For Charges, that cutoff lies at 33. Frankly, I agree with that. I've played characters with charges fairly often in the past, and when they have more than 12 I rarely have an issue running out. It's rare that a character is in combat more than once a day, and given that most combats are fairly short-lived, it's rare that you get a chance to fire off that many rounds. Now, with th
×
×
  • Create New...