Block vs Dodge: Statistics

Kdansky

I made a small tool to calculate some statistics on the question: "Should I rather block or dodge?"

Download Tool

Retaliation: This is just the chance that the defender would hit the attacker, so you're not missing something ;)

As far as it looks dodging is (still) much better than blocking, especially if your foe has low OCV and/or you have high DCV. I did a 1d20 Attack Roll too (as we are using that to counter the "everyone has 7 ocv/dcv and hits everyone on 11-" because having less is catastrophic and having more is not permitted).

There might be a delphi runtime needed, tell me if you're missing some files...

Simple first conclusion: Blocking sincerely sucks. Usually dodging is better and in some rare cases it does not matter which you do (assuming there is only 1 attacker, if there are many, blocking is even worse).

I started playing Champions in 1984. Give or take a year. Haven't played lately, but I have logged hundreds of hours of play - possibly thousands.

I never chose Block once.

Dodge was a common choice for me. Make it a Martial Dodge, and it was even more useful.

Sure, if you only compare straight CV's Dodge must win because it gives a bonus and Block gives none. This much is obvious. However, I have gotten significant tactical advantage out of Blocks because of that item you discount, being able to go first on the next phase. And since you can get 2 point levels with Block, but not with Dodge (they only apply to OCV), buying it up is cheaper.

If you are looking to maximize your character's effectiveness in combat, Dodge wins- Flying Dodge even better. But Block is the choice I make more often since it fits the flavor of many of my heroes and villains better. Thematically, it's the difference between shrugging off your opponent's attack, and running away like a little girl.

Originally posted by Bengal