Advice on GMing superhero campaigns?

bigdamnhero

So my new Champions campaign is almost ready to go. It's a mostly Bronze Age, mostly 4-color comic book game, not set in the CU but borrowing heavily from it. I think I've got everything about ready to go, and am really looking forward to it starting.

But here's the thing. `Tho I've been GMing for something like 25 years now, I've mostly run sci-fi, fantasy, and horror. While I have played superheroes before, it dawned on me the other day that this will be the first superheroes campaign I've actually run. (I have run one-off supers games at cons and the like, but never a full campaign.)

So... any advice for a not-exactly-new GM? I'm not looking for rules issues (knockback yes, hit location no) or story ideas (I'm full of those). Just more philosophical questions about how running a superhero game is different from running other genres.

Thanks in advance,

bigdamnhero

"You will all go directly to your respective Valhalla's.

Go directly, do not pass Go, do not collect two-hundred dollahs."

Re: Advice on GMing superhero campaigns?

So... any advice for a not-exactly-new GM? I'm not looking for rules issues (knockback yes' date=' hit location no) or story ideas (I'm full of those). Just more philosophical questions about how running a superhero game is different from running other genres. [/quote']

Well, without going into generic GMing advice and sticking with the letter of the question, there isn't a difference. Assuming you're prepared in all the ways you think you need to be (which means there will be one or two areas in which you are not prepared cuz you didn't think the characters would go there), and are familiar with the rules, the setting and the genre, then don't let it intimidate you. The best stories are those that can be transplanted from genre to genre without changing much (except maybe the setting), so just relax and have fun.

But yeah, know the setting and know the genre.

Congratulations, BDH!