Chronicles of Gor

Steve

• Replies 156
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Re: Chronicles of Gor

First two books, then I graduated to Conan and Theive's World.

I know this sounds intolorant but I still can't belive people try to live that as a lifestyle :(

As much as I try to be tolerant and curious about alternate lifestyles, there's something about that "lifestyle" that smells of "Woo hoo! I got me a couple co-dependent women to treat like crap!"

Which is odd, since I certainly don't think that of BDSM.:confused:

If you are talking about John Norman’s Gor series, then I have read 25 of the 26 books. They are not the best-written books but there are some good adventures in them.

I admit though I tended to skim over parts of the books. The main character, Tarl Cabot, tended to ramble on about his views on women, the cultures he encountered and the warrior caste’s equipment.

Still some of the best fight scenes I have read were in those books.

I finally broke through my reluctance and read Tarnsman of Gor a few weeks ago. Decent if not spectacular pulp fantasy. I still prefer Barsoom. Could make an OK gameworld if everyones on the same page... heck... I played in a rolemaster campaign once based off Corbins Den of Earth setting, so Gor isn't THAT weird.

Lifestyle Goreans still tend to make me either chuckle or wince, and I AM involved in the BDSM scene. The big problem with the Goreans is that a lot of them are really fanatical, and often get a bit whacked when trying to explain or defend their lifetyle.

Its not unlike getting trapped for hours at a party while a WW Vampire LARPer tells you about his character.

Honestly, for fans of the book, genre and lifestyle, I could see a "Gorean" weekend as a fun, highly adult LARP of sorts itself... but to do as more than a character role you put on for a couple of days wouldn't be my cup of tea.