Construction Time and Materials

Jab Gideon

So you know how many CP it will cost to build your base on underground or on the moon.  You know the CP to build your latest ray guy.  How do you determine how much the materials will cost, if the design is supported in setting, and how long it will take to build? 

I am somewhat new to Hero, I have been playing and running games for a couple years, but I have never found any guidance for converting CP's into monetary expense.  Nor have I found guidance on build times.

I typically run Champions, Pulp and Spy Genre games.  Lacking clear direction, I often resort to the construction rules of other game systems.

Economics are so complicated the books do not even approach it. The main reason for this is genre conventions so greatly affect it.

Imagine 250 years ago for a person to have a 1 pound bar of aluminum would make him able to retire for life and having a few sets of nice clothes was a statement of wealth. In today’s era pop cans are made out of aluminum because it is so cheap and everyone has plenty of clothes. (I can say that even when we were homeless growing up we had access to new clothes at least a couple times a year as there were many groups that if you could show up clean and sober would provide them free). Additionally the cost of making goods used to be balanced by the need to maintain craftsmen, but the industrial revolution changed everything there.

In the united states we can get a electronic device that requires tens of thousands of hours to be crafted if you include the time to build the operating system, compile a processor with millions of individual switches and a memory card with 128 billion separate bit locations (iPhone 6+) all for about two day’s wages ($300) and a contract to use it for 2 years or a week’s wages ($800) outright. Meanwhile that same phone if available only 50 years ago would have been worth millions or even priceless.