Anyone ever use HERO to make a skirmish game?

Sam On Maui

I’m a hobby painter, and while I’ve got one main game (Warmachine(, I like to paint other minis from different games.

it occurred to me I don’t know if any kitchen sink style skirmish games, and I was thinking that’d be a lot of fun! Especially if I could create my own units. There are some out there that allow for that, but they’re generally attached to a specific genre.

So I’m looking for more, but one idea that came up was using HERO, GURPS, Savage Worlds, etc., to do try this. Has anyone done that before? I know HERO is a toolkit, so ditching stuff that’s not necessary ought work, but... hrm... there’s a lot to consider in regards to implamentation.

Savage Worlds as it currently exists evolved directly from the rules for Deadlands: Rail Wars, and still works great as a miniatures-based combat game, or so I hear. I haven't actually tried it. They've also got a version of the rules specifically for minis combat on their site; look for "Showdown" under the Savage Worlds products.

Having said that, you could certainly use Hero for skirmish combat! Just use the normal rules and don't worry about any skills, perks, or complications that won't apply in combat. You'll have a very detailed skirmish game that might be a bit slow-playing, but all the rules you need are already there in the core Hero books. If you try this, please report back with your results; I'd love to hear how it went!

Heavy use of Mook rules would help. Having to keeping track of Recoveries would generally be a Bad Thing, although a very simplified Recovery rule might be OK.

Essentially, the trick would be to find a way of reaching the same results as the full rules most of the time, with a fraction of the effort. Say, the same result 80% of the time with 20% of the rules.

That said, "skirmish games" cover a lot of ground. They can involve half a dozen characters/units per side, or a hundred.