GM burnout

zen_hydra

Greetings,

I am suffering from a problem, and hope that one of you can give me some advice. Here is the situation. Though I have been playing RPG's for many, many years, in the last couple of them work, school, and circumstance have kept me from playing. I (like many) am a bibliophile, and I have always been someone to buy new games, and supplements whenever I can, and I love to pass my idle hours away working on material for various campaigns I intend to run "one of these days." So, recently I find myself in a position to run a game of Champions, and I have worked up a game setting with all sorts of details and NPC's, but when we play I find that the old inspiration is all gone. I can't find the proper motivation to deliver anything more than the flattest, most uninspired lines of dialog. I find that I am unable/unwilling to lead the PC's through transitional scenes, and mundane minutia. I am unhappy with this situation, but don't know how to fix it. I feel like I am out of inspiration, and/or my imagination has left me for someone else. So, has anyone experienced a problem like this, and if so how did you get out of the slump?

Man that's tough. All I could do to try and recover after an 8 year layoff from running a hero game was to read some comics. I used to be able to alter all of the scenarios on the fly to setup something big for next time and I wasn't sure I'd still have that touch. Not sure I do, for that matter. All I could do is read some comics... in this case some very old stuff I had stowed away... stuff that inspired me when I was a teen.

I guess all I can say is you need to get in touch with what it was that so motivated you to run this in the first place and figure out what's different about the game now from when you used to run.

Sounds like you plan your stuff, details, possible angles, etc...