Ye Old "Hero is Hard" Debate

In the General Gaming discussion, someone refered to an RPG.net debate over the HERO System rules. If you have ever been to RPG.net you know what the HERO System threads turn into. For those of you who don't it is mostly people saying "math is hard", "character creation is not fun", "creating characters takes time".

All I can say is, "What gives?" I'm not a rules expert. Last Saturday, we stopped the game for 15 minutes while we looked up the rules on PRE Attacks and which comes first, normal damage or damage reduction.

But when it comes to creating characters. I think it is fun and not as time consuming as people would think. In fact, I could probably build an entire character with only a ~20 point error range without the book at all. 3d6 EB, Armor Piercing, Area of Effect (One Hex) is 30 points. Add on Only works while eating an ice cream and it is now 10 points and costs 3 END.

Admittedly, it can be complicated at times. For example one of the people in the area wanted to build a character comprised of anti-matter. She could release anti-matter from her system and destroy a target but took damage in the meantime. She wanted to also be able to use this same power as a Damage Shield. I can't remember the end product but it was something like 150 active points and 60 something real points.

I've gone to work with FREd and a notepad of paper and come home with a character or two created. HERO is also the only system I know of that only requires you to have a single book.

My chief complaint with HERO is that which all games must face. I don't know all of the rules yet. Beyond that, it is the game I have always been looking for.

• Replies 148
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Re: Ye Old "Hero is Hard" Debate