What do I need to start GMing with?

Direbadger

Hello again everyone.

Rank and file newbie here trying to run a Fantasy Hero game (and also a supers game, but that's a story for another thread).

I currently own:

5ER

Sidekick pdf (printed out)

Fantasy Hero pdf

I plan on primarily using Sidekick for the first several adventures. The setting is one of my own design. Are there any other books that I really (almost) need to play the game? What other books would be helpful (or more helpful than others)?

I was thinking of one of the following:

Hero System Combat Handbook

Fantasy Hero Grimoire

Ultimate Martial Artist

Also, how often am I going to be referencing stuff in Fantasy Hero? Should I be printing a lot of it out on my laser printer?

Thanks!

Re: What do I need to start GMing with?

If you only get one of the three you listed, I recommend the grimoire first. Unless you're not familiar with Hero System combat; then the combat handbook would be VERY handy for you.

If you can get all three, I recommend it.

The parts we use most often in our games is the parts about equipment costs and weapons. If you print out nothing else, print the price chart and the stats on damage and suchlike.

Most of the rest of it seems like, so long as you've read it and understand it, you're good.

You may want to look into the Turakian Age material. It's a FH setting, and, as I understand it, is ripe for the picking with plot hooks and ideas and inspiration. Could help make your job easier, at least.

HERO System Combat Handbook makes a great reference if you're new to the combat system, especially if you want to make use of all the available options. However, you should probably keep combat simple to start with. IMO this should be prioritized as an important later purchase, but not immediately necessary.