Rant? Speed in Hero

I was helping someone make a character for the Champions campaign I'm starting and I had what seemed like my millionth discussion about this apparently controversial topic.

Me: Speed 6 huh? That seems high. What's your character origin again?

Player: I'm a scientist that got hit by a bolt of lightning.

Me: And you've done a lot of fighting in your life? You realize that Speed is basically a combat stat.

Player: Well, 6 Speed is easy to keep track of.

Me:

Ok, I started playing Hero games with guys who listened to character concept first and then built characters based on that instead of on what was most efficient. And that led to this interpretation of the Speed chart.

You are not a quick thinker or a good combatant. You react slowly in pressure situations. You are Speed 1.

You are a typical person. You react at normal speeds in pressure situation. You are Speed 2.

You have been in many fights. You have been trained to think more clearly and act more efficiently in tense situations. Perhaps you are a police officer or fireman. You are Speed 3.

You have received extensive combat training. You may be a black belt or a member of a elite fighting unit. You are Speed 4.

You make those pathetic Rangers and Seals look like lardasses. You can outthink and move faster than Tito Ortiz. You are John Rambo. You are Speed 5.

Normal people can barely see you move in a fight. They sure as hell can't keep up with you. You are Morpheus or Trinity IN The Matrix. You are Speed 6.

Trained agents can't keep track of you. You are at least partially made of energy. You are an Agent in The Matrix. You are Speed 7.

Faster than that. 8+.