The Boys

Defenstrator

So, I am an experianced RPG player but completely new to the Hero system and looking for some help. I have read the 6th ed. PDF and that's it. I was wondering how I would go about constructing the "super" team the Boys, by Garth Ennis. Do I just up their strength to make them stronger? Should I stick with just giving them a high PD to soak damage or will they need some kind of Resistance as well? And what would be considered high?

Alternatively if anyone has already built Hughie, Butcher and the gang and can just point me where to find them so I can have a look It would also be very much appreciated.

Re: The Boys

Thanks for your reply, but it wasn't the background I was looking for. I am already quite the fan boy of the Boys. ;)

My problem is that as a total newbie to the Hero system, I'm not quite sure what the numbers I'm looking at mean. So I'm not sure when constructing them if I am on target or not. The Boys are implied to be bullet resistant, so I buy the Resistence power, but I'm not sure what level I should be using it at. Is 20 PD alot or too little? Should I simply be buying them the STR stat or should this be a power? The Butcher is shot in the face with some lightening by Shout Out, but only gets superficial damage. What sort of ED Resistence would be needed to do that? These are the kind of questions I am wrestling with.

The Boys powers all result from a chemical called Compound V. Injected in its pure form it makes you about 20 to 30 times stronger, and just generally tougher as well. Light pistol fire from a 9mm would probably hurt but not penetrate their skin, while a heavy machine gun loaded with some sort of armour piercing round would probably be enough to badly mess them up. What sort of range of STR and of PD/ rPD should I be looking at for around this level? The help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks' date=' that's very helpful. One other question. Aside from being a bit cheaper, why buy PD instead of rPD?[/quote']