Player-Built Characters...

etherio

Hey Everybody...

I've been playing HERO games for about 20 years now, but I'm new to the BB, so please bear with me if this has come up before...

I get the impression, from both the rulebooks and from people's comments here, that most of you operate something like this in regards to introducing PCs:

--Player makes character at home and brings it on game night. GM scans character for any glaring abuses of the rules. Game commences.--

In our group, there's pretty much no such animal. All characters are built in a sort of cooperative negotiation with the campaign's GM, from start to finish. The finished product is the child of both player and GM. One reason is that we've developed a scale that suits our group, for everything from damage classes, to combat skill levels, to statistics, etc. In addition, each campaign's GM has finely tuned ideas about what should be available to PCs, and the birth of each new PC invariably further defines that world.

We've had a few players who've seemed put-off by our reluctance to allow characters that were built otherwise, or were brought in unmodified from their old campaigns, and I wonder how most HERO gamers feel about this.

Gimme your input...

Re: Player-Built Characters...

I do pretty much the same thing with new players. With players who know the Hero System, I do a compromise between the two extremes. They make their character but they talk to me before and after they make it, and there's usually some revisions.

(bring in PCs with only a cursory nod on gameday)

What????

Sorry Etherio that has never 100% absolutely not no way no how mister how Champions PCs in any game I have been involved with been generated.

PCs are generated by the player (plus help from other players or GM on difficult or unusual constructs) usually about 3-4 weeks BEFORE game day. Once the Player feels he has done a good job and is satisfied the GM recieves a copy.