Looks Like a Spaceship, Don't It?

Clonus

Re: Looks Like a Spaceship, Don't It?

They do have a really cool, futuristic look, though if one really wants to eliminate sonic booms one could just use a spaceplane.

That said, the highly aerodynamic design might be a good idea for re-entry (having zero knowledge of aeronautical engineering, I really don't know).

What about spaceships that can land?

I'd think having one engine system for in-atmosphere and another for space travel would be inefficient at best... inefficient, expensive, and dangerous at worst. But then I'm no expert either and generally get around such details by conveniently overlooking them ;)

Having different propulsion systems for different environments is inefficient... to an extent.

Given current technology, however, it is even more inefficient to use rocket propulsion in an atmosphere for extended periods. So, to take the 'earth to orbit' example, it might well be more efficient to use jets of some sort to 100K feet altitude, then kick the rockets in to get to orbit. Coming back would only use the rockets briefly to deorbit, then the jets would kick back in for landing.

Theorectically, of course.

Now, if we could come up with some sort of drive that worked equally well in and out of the atmosphere with minimal harmful effects, then that would really be something, wouldn't it?

Having different propulsion systems for different environments is inefficient... to an extent.

Given current technology, however, it is even more inefficient to use rocket propulsion in an atmosphere for extended periods. So, to take the 'earth to orbit' example, it might well be more efficient to use jets of some sort to 100K feet altitude, then kick the rockets in to get to orbit. Coming back would only use the rockets briefly to deorbit, then the jets would kick back in for landing.