Making Hero 6E More Dangerous (Skyrealms of Jorune Conversion) ?

I'm new to Hero 6E. I'm searching for a system to convert the '80s RPG Skyrealms of Jorune to, so I'm asking if Hero 6E is what I'm looking for.

I have dabbled in the conversion with Burning Wheel and GURPS 4E, but I've found issues there that keep me searching for a system to call home for Jorune. (Burning Wheel's pre-planned, scripted combat turned me off. GURPS 4E, though similar in many ways to Hero 6E at face value, seems to not go quite deep enough into the mechanics of things to make me perfectly happy with a Jorune conversion. Jorune's energy-wielding powers are hard to convey with GURPS' rules--I felt that I was still being given clumped, modular answers that I could not crack open to really create what I wanted there.)

Thing is, Jorune is a deadly place. It's not an Indiana Jones movie, where everything is cinematic and the bad guys shoot at you a zillion times and you shrug it off / they all miss you. Jorune is gritty--a single blast shot or good slice with a sword, and you're out for a while--if not worse.

Hero 6E's origins as a "supers" system makes me wonder if I've found a great system that allows me to build from scratch what I need, but then lifts everything into that dramatic realism frame of reference that steals away the consequences that I'm looking for in a Jorune conversion rule set.

I was happy to read in the 6E introduction that there are optional rules that deflate that sense of "action film / super hero" flow in favor of a more gritty feel. Is there a place online somewhere that describes these more dangerous optional rules in a way that a person new to the system would appreciate--some collection of options that make Hero 6E less...er..."super"?