Can you create temporary weapons?

dekrass

I'm new to the Hero System, and I'm trying to convert a character from another game. We're planning to play a fantasy game, and I was able to replicate everything for my warrior/mage except a few of his spells. He frequently used spells to conjure swords and such. He never actually carried weapons between battles. 
I haven't figured out how to temporarily have weapons and shields. With all the options in the game it seems like there must be a combination of powers and modifiers to make it work, but I haven't figured it out. I got the APG2 because I heard it had a create objects power, but it specifically says it's not for creating weapons. I'm hoping to find a way to do this, and add in the campaign requirements of all spells having gestures, incantations, and time limits.
Is there a way to make that work in this system, or do I need to scrap this PC and start over?

I don't know the book-legal answer, or even the answer in that other thread, but off the top of my head, I would think a Gadget Pool would work.  Barring that, modify T-form to whatever works for you.  (Not a big fan of that last one, myself, but it's there).

The thing with gadget pools and "create" power is that rule: don't make weapons!

I tend to think that it's primarily for game balance: you wouldn't want someone running around who can constantly create the most perfect weapon for every situation; it would wreck the fun.  But if you're making something like "a spell that creates a mystical sword composed of the souls of the righteous" or any one or two _specific_ weapons, so long as those weapons abided by the campaign limits, I really wouldn't have a problem with it personally.  Even if you could cast this spell on twenty people at once, I still don't see it as being a major problem _for me personally_.

I have no doubt that there will be some disagreement on that. :D