Strongbow's Art Thread!

Fred Lang

***Posted this elsewhere, and it was immediately noted by a forumite that this post belongs here.***

I'm a comic book artist living in San Francisco, trying to hit the big time in 2011. Figured I'd introduce myself down here with an art thread. Here's my newest piece.

"DOOM DEMANDS YOU CROSS SAFELY" is my entry into the SKETCH Magazine contest this month, which asks for art depicting a favorite villain doing something heroic or nice. So here's DOOM directing traffic as a crossing guard for kids.

Of course, DOOM does not stoop to actually holding a sign (though he did agree to wear the dorky reflective vest--hmm...), so his DOOMbots flash the "STOP" sign for him, complete with flashing lights...and an explosive mine function if anyone disobeys him.

This is my first-ever ink job with Manga Studio EX4. I can't describe to you the joy of using this program. Truly a comic book artist's dream.

doom_demands_you_cross_safely_by_fr3d_l4ng-d38fq46.jpg

Re: Strongbow's Art Thread!

Strongbow: Do you have a website or a gallery of other art? If so' date=' could you post the link so we can enjoy your artwork, and also maybe get you some more recognition and maybe art commissions if you're interested...[/quote']

BOLO (Be On the Look Out?), my DeviantArt page is HERE. You won't find a great deal of material there, and here's why:

A few months ago, I left a 15-year career in law enforcement (I was lieutenant in the Houston Police Department) to move to San Francisco and concentrate fully on getting into the comics industry full-time. What you *will* see is my progression as I jump forward by leaps and bounds beyond what you see today. I have an entire library of drawing / storytelling / inking / coloring / etc. etc. etc. material that I haven't read yet, so you ain't seen nothin' yet! *haha*