I am so, so old...

Scott Heine

I remember signing up for a demo game of this new fangled Champions thing way back at DunDraCon 25 years ago. Now I'm going to teach the game to my kids.

I've got three teenagers, and they've always wondered about this Champions thing their dad was into. Spending the weekend up at HeroCon in Baltimore only piqued their interest. So they've asked if I would run a campaign for them and introduce them to the Hero System.

When did I become so old? I'm going to be GMing for my kids! My teenagers-that-drive kids! Oh my...

It's funny how I'd forgotten what it's like to introduce total newbies to tabletop RPGs. I think I've helped them understand by talking about the art of "shared storytelling;" at least my daughters seem to get it. They're already thinking through character personalities and backgrounds and how they'd like to see a character develop through play. My 17-year old son, on the other hand, is thinking much more like a wargamer, and is interested in how the stats of the game will give him the greatest chance of beating the opponents he'll eventually face. He wants to "win the game," so it's gonna be a bit of a challenge to help him get into the episodic nature of what we're doing.