"Back when I started playing Champions...."

Pariah

It's not hard to picture the scene. A group of older people--geezers, you might even call them--are sitting around talking about the way things were "back in the day". Now, imagine that these geezers are actually Champions players from the old school--and I do mean the Olde School. You might hear things like these:

"Back when I started playing Champions, you couldn't buy new books from a gaming store. If you wanted a new book, you had to wait for some monk to copy it by hand for you."

"Back when I started playing Champions, we kept track of our stats with Roman numerals. It was fun, until we had to fight the villain with the CXX Strength."

"Back when I started playing Champions, we used miniature figures made of iridium. The stuff was just lying around back then."

You get the picture. So tell me, what was it like back when you started playing Champions?

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Re: "Back when I started playing Champions...."

Well, actually, when I started playing, you couldn't buy the books from a gaming store where I lived. Sorry, that's book, not books.

The first three groups in Brisbane that I know of played with a single copy of the rules, and some photocopies of it which somebody had made.

Unethical, but at least one of those original players is still buying Hero Games products 25 years later...

Our earliest games, unfortunately, were hideous munchkin-fests. Sadly we didn't have anyone willing and able to suppress the powergamers long enough to run a decent campaign.

In my case, it was partly because I wasn't all that familiar with the source material. I hadn't read comics in years at that point. My subsequent comics habit was picked up from my fellow players.

Well there was one I really had happen.